Skip to content


Your cart is empty


Safety Excellence Award Winners Circle

Honoring outstanding patient safety efforts and initiatives

ECRI and the Institute for Safe Medication Practices PSO’s Safety Excellence Award is presented each year to recognize outstanding patient safety efforts and initiatives undertaken by member healthcare institutions to improve safety-related outcomes for patients, families, visitors, and staff.

The winner was chosen based on the characteristics of their safety initiative:

  • Impact: achievement of a significant level of improvement
  • Culture of safety: promotion of key elements of organizational culture of safety
  • Scale: reproducibility and scalability of initiative
  • Innovation: innovative use of ECRI and the ISMP PSO and other resources and approach to drive improvement

Read our press release to learn more.

2023 Award Winner

AdventHealth, Zephyrhills, FL and Dade City, FL

Adevnt Zephyrhills and AdventHealth Dade City noted upward trend in patient fall rates and falls with injuries in 2021. The hospitals wanted to reduce the number of patient fall occurrences at both hospitals and aspired to reduce the number of incidences by 10%. Through their Patient Falls Bootcamp, they reduced incidents of patients falling by 33% overall, with some hospital units improving as much as 40% to 50% over the previous year.

2023 Honorable Mentions

  • Northern Arizona Healthcare, Flagstaff, AZ
  • Carilion Clinic (VPSO), Roanoke, VA

Previous Award Winners

2022 Award Winner

Monument Health, Rapid City, SD

Monument Health, a community-based health system, set a strategic goal to improve culture of safety, increase incident and near miss event reporting, and increase and enrich discussions about safety throughout the organization. Their efforts, which included implementation of a multi-prong Safety Culture program of tiered huddles, good catch reporting, Just Culture, and patient safety coaches, resulted in a 334% increase of near-miss reporting.

2022 Honorable Mentions

  • Carilion Clinic, Roanoke, VA
  • Unity Point St. Luke’s, Cedar Rapids, IA

2021 Award Winner

Jefferson Health, Philadelphia, PA
Jefferson Health’s created an initiative to introduce a true integrated safety management system, with a framework that leverages and cascades learnings from both success and failure in one hospital, across all 14 hospitals. Through this initiative, Jefferson Health designed an integrated network of centralized tools and processes that starts with a single event reporting platform and created a tiered daily huddle system that escalates small signals in one hospital and cascades the information throughout our health system for awareness, triage, and stop gap mitigation of emergent safety risks.

2021 Honorable Mentions

  • Cooper University Health Care, Camden, NJ
  • BayCare Health System, Tampa, FL