Skip to content


Your cart is empty

Audio and Web Conference

Video | Top 10 Patient Safety Concerns 2021


Many of the items on this year’s Top 10 list relate to COVID-19; the pandemic has created new issues and unearthed deep-rooted problems in the acute, aging, and ambulatory settings.

Watch now

Supplementary materials

Request a PSO demo today

Agenda & Speakers

Brigitta Mueller

Brigitta U. Mueller, M.D., M.H.C.M., M.S.J., CPE, CPPS, CPHQ, FAAP

Executive Director, Patient Safety, Risk & Quality, ECRI

Prior to joining ECRI, Dr. Mueller worked as the Vice President, Medical Affairs and Chief Patient Safety Officer for Johns Hopkins All Children’s Hospital (JHACH). She also held an appointments as Professor in Pediatrics at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, faculty member of the Armstrong Institute, and was tenured Professor in the Department of Pediatrics at Baylor College of Medicine. Dr. Mueller has been a clinical investigator in the area of pediatric HIV disease, and was involved in the fields of sickle cell disease and vascular anomalies.

Paul Anderson

Paul A. Anderson

Director, Patient Safety, Risk, and Quality Publications, ECRI

In his current role, Paul oversees ECRI’s suite of patient safety, risk management, and quality publications, providing guidance and news for providers across the continuum of care in ambulatory, acute, and post-acute settings. In 20 years at ECRI, Mr. Anderson has researched and written on risk management and patient safety topics ranging from MRI safety and effective communication to emergency preparedness and OSHA compliance.

Shannon Davila

Shannon Davila, MSN, RN, CIC, CPHQ, FAPIC

Associate Director, ECRI and the Institute for Safe Medication Practices PSO

With a clinical background in adult critical care nursing, Shannon specializes in infection prevention and healthcare quality improvement. Shannon has provided leadership throughout several state and national patient safety programs including the New Jersey Sepsis Learning Action Collaborative and CMS Hospital Improvement Innovation Network. Shannon has co-led both the national CMS Sepsis and Antimicrobial Stewardship Affinity Groups.